top of page
Search

Behind the Scenes | In Conversation with Jack Franklin


Jack Franklin, Independent Venue Manager @ The Soundhouse, Leicester





We had a quick chat with local venue manager and promoter Jack Franklin about the importance of supporting your local scene, how you can do it and how to kick start the revolution.

 

Introduce yourself and give us some info about your role within the local scene?

Hi, I’m Jack Franklin and I run and manage the promotions and bookings at The Soundhouse Leicester. Grassroots music venue, 200 cap!


How important do you think that independent venues are for local scenes across the country?

I think they’re vital. I think they’re vital in many different ways, from giving bands the outlet and the stage that they deserve, for them to progress into bigger acts like you see at major festivals. Also, for the young people and old people who enjoy the arts and enjoy music, who use it as an avenue of expression and their love of life.


How can people support local bands and prevent the closure of so many independent venues?

That question can be answered on multiple levels but I'm going to say be happy to indulge in the unknown. Don’t be scared to go to a gig where you don’t have a clue what the sounds like or what the genre is or what they are.


Just go out and do something you wouldn’t normally do and have trust in sound and music. Off the back of that you’ll get to know venues and promoters and what they do. You might find yourself loving a whole new genre of music that you didn’t know existed. You’ve got to take a risk.



What are some of the local bands you are loving at the moment?

For local Leicester bands my top boys at the moment are The People Assembly, I really like them, and I think they have a big future ahead of them if they stick together. Off the back of that Earwig Records who I'm supporting and pulling them through. From The People Assembly to Gallows High who are on the metal scene and have worked really hard and The Surrealists. Obviously, the boys in Earls.


There’s so many to name, I think that not only are they good musically and they tick boxes for me in terms of taste, they also want to support the grassroots scene and they want to be a part of it. They don’t want to be bigger or better than it, which is how bigger acts should be, it brings a better trajectory of how the industry should be when everyone is in it together.


What independent venues do you like going to in and outside of Leicester?

I love all the venues in Leicester from The Cookie to The Shed, I've got a lot of love for them. I also have a soft spot for the Bodega in Nottingham, I really enjoy the promoter there and the bands that they pull through.


What’s your big closing statement?

Keep coming. Keep coming bands, keep coming public. Keep doing it and then the revolution will happen.


 

Soundwaves

Support DIY

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page